AGM Michell Medal

About this Award

The Award perpetuates the memory of Anthony George Maldon Michell (1870-1959), an outstanding Australian Mechanical Engineer. AGM Michell was a consulting engineer in the field of hydraulics and pump design and in conjunction with his investigations of lubrication at the beginning of the century he invented the tilting-pad thrust bearing, a momentous technical innovation. Other notable achievements were the invention of his viscometer, the development of hydraulic power transmissions and the design and development of a series of crankless engines. He was elected a fellow of the Royal Society in 1934 and was awarded the Kernot Medal in 1938 and the James Watt Medal in 1943.

The Award was first presented in 1978.

The Award is made annually by the Mechanical College Board upon the recommendation of its Executive Committee, the latter having invited Confidential Nominations accompanied by supporting documentation.

Nominations Close 1 August 2022
Nomination Criteria
Terms and Conditions
Submission Guidelines
Presentation of the Award

Nomination Criteria

The Award is presented for outstanding service to mechanical engineering through:

  • A highly significant contribution, or contributions, through technical innovation relating to the science or practice of mechanical engineering; or
  • Long standing eminence in mechanical engineering science or practice; or
  • Notable and sustained leadership pertaining to mechanical engineering, within the Institution of Engineers Australia; or
  • A worthy blend of the aforementioned

Terms and Conditions

  • Please note that non-members of Engineers Australia are eligible for the Award, however their nomination will be the exception rather than the rule
  • Self-nominees must provide details of two referees
  • The successful recipient will be invited to give an oration on a topic of his or her choice which will later be published in the Australian Journal of Mechanical Engineering
  • Unsuccessful nominations in the current year remain valid for another 2 years and are again considered with any new nominations received in those following years

Submission Guidelines

You must provide the following with your submission:

  • Submit nomination online
  • Nominee’s current CV including employment history and achievements
  • Nominee’s current Biographical Information
  • Nominee’s portrait photo
  • Nominee’s Citation (Max 100 words)
  • A statement addressing the criteria

Presentation of the Award

The successful recipient will be presented with a Bronze Medal and accompanying Certificate at a Presentation Dinner or equally appropriate event. The recipient is invited to give an oration on a topic of his or her choice which will later be published in the Australian Journal of Mechanical Engineering.

2021 Winner

Prof Xinhua Wu


With three decades of ground-breaking and innovative contributions, Prof. Xinhua Wu is a recognised world leader in the field of metal 3D printing and aerospace materials. Through the application of fundamental materials research, she has transformed 3D printing techniques from producing artefacts to aerospace components, some of which are now qualified and used globally in aircrafts.

Xinhua led several ARC grants and founded two world-class research Centres including the renowned Monash Centre for Additive Manufacturing (MCAM). She supervised 190 PhDs, post-docs, final year students and interns, published 180+ journal papers and has 25 international patents. She also founded two spin-off companies in Australia: Amaero International and AmPro Innovations. She was appointed as Pro Vice-Chancellor-Precinct Partnerships, to lead the exciting transformation of Monash Technology Precinct.

Xinhua is a passionate mentor and advocate for science and engineering, actively promotes the value of research and collaboration to the community at every opportunity.

Past award recipients