Australian Engineering Excellence Awards

Celebrating the achievement of Australia’s most dedicated and innovative engineers.

About the awards

AEEA offers a range of national awards, medals and scholarships which highlight contributions to the various areas of engineering which we support and promote.

The AEEA Program seeks to identify, recognise and reward outstanding achievement, eminence in the practice of engineering, and standout service to the profession. It plays an important role in promoting engineering excellence and the significant contribution engineering makes to the community.

Explore the pages below for information and to nominate on the many different honours we award to the top engineers in Australia.

Nominations are now open (note close of nominations varies, please check relevant awards below).

Peter Nicol Russel Career Achievement Memorial Medal (PNR Medal)

The Peter Nicol Russell Career Achievement Memorial Medal is the most prestigious award conferred by Engineers Australia. It is presented annually to an Honorary Fellow of Engineers Australia who has made a notable contribution to the science and/or practice of engineering in Australia.


Honorary Fellow (HonFIEAust)

This award elevates the nominee to the highest Engineers Australia membership grade. Eligible recipients are Fellows of The Institution of Engineers Australia or distinguished non-members. They have rendered conspicuous service to the profession of engineering, are eminent in engineering or an allied science, or a distinguished person whom the Board desires to honour, either for having rendered conspicuous service to the Australian people or in recognition of outstanding achievement.


Engineer of the Year

Recognition for outstanding individual engineering achievements and promotes those engineering professionals who show innovation and resourcefulness in their work. Engineers Australia Awards recognise professional achievement, or engineering excellence in its various forms, and promote the profession of engineering.


Recognition Awards

Recognition Awards showcase the achievements of engineers within a specific technical sector and highlight the valuable contributions made to the wider engineering community hosted by EA’ s Colleges, Technical Societies, Special Interest Groups and National Committee.



Recognising Australia’s top engineering projects and the engineering teams behind them.


Division Awards

Engineering awards given to outstanding work specific to our nine geographical divisions.


Tertiary Awards

Every year Engineers Australia seeks to recognise those who will join the engineering profession and contribute to its future through the annual Institution and College Graduate Engineer Awards. Institutions are invited to select graduating students to be awarded an Engineers Australia Institution Graduate Award and to also nominate students for consideration for the Engineers Australia College National Graduate Awards.


Australian Engineering Excellence Awards

The national award program first began in 1988 after a decade of celebrating local projects through an Engineers Australia Division. After 32 years, we now recognize a new milestone in the awards history, celebrating via online ceremonies for the first time.


Engineering House
11 National Circuit
Barton ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6270 6555

Toll Free: 1300 653 113

Copyright © Engineers Australia 2020. All rights reserved