Chemeca Medal

Awards of Excellence in Chemical Engineering

About this Award

This is the most prestigious award in the chemical engineering profession in Australia and New Zealand. It is awarded to a prominent Australian or New Zealand Chemical Engineer who has made an outstanding contribution, through achievement or service, to the practice of Chemical Engineering in its widest sense and who continues to serve the profession.

2022 Nominations Close 1 August 2022
Eligibility Criteria
Terms and Conditions
Submission Guidelines
Presentation of the Award

Eligibility Criteria

Nominations must include:

  • a statement of support
  • a list of outstanding achievements
  • a list of supporting members

Terms and Conditions

Applicants must:

  • be a member of one or more of the following institutions:
      • Engineers Australia
      • IChemE
      • RACI
      • Engineering New Zealand
  • be an Australian or New Zealand resident
  • be a Chemical Engineer
  • Nominator driven – award submissions only 

Submission Guidelines

Online nomination must include:

  • Nominee’s current CV including employment history and achievements
  • Nominee’s current Biographical Information
  • Nominee’s portrait photo
  • Nominee’s Citation (Max 100 words)


Presentation of the Award

The recipient of the award is invited to present at a plenary lecture at an event in 2021, where they will also be presented with their award.

2021 Winner

Prof Rose Amal AM


Professor Rose Amal AM is a strong advocate for women in engineering, work life balance and the importance of families in the crucial role of education of their children.  She is role model for many areas of science, technology, engineering and maths.

Professor Rose Amal is committed and passionate chemical engineering professional. 

In 2018, Rose was awarded has been named as a Companion in the General Division of the Order of Australia for her eminent service to chemical engineering, education as a researcher and academic, and to women in science as a role model and mentor.

Past award recipients