David Robinson Award

About this Award

The David Robinson Award is presented in memory of The Institution of Radio and Electronics Engineers (IREE) and in named in honour of the late Dr David Errol Robinson AM.

The IREE represented the profession of radio and electronics engineering in Australia for many years, while David Robinson was an outstanding Australian Electronics Engineer, former President of the IREE and a world renowned expert on ultrasound technology.

The award recognises achievements in information, telecommunications and electronics engineering; and to enhance the ongoing professional development program of the recipient.

Eligibility Criteria
Terms and Conditions
Submission Guidelines
Presentation of the Award

Eligibility Criteria

The nomination must:

  • provide details of the nominee’s technical and professional career, and demonstrate the the nominee’s compliance with the judging criteria and their contributions to the Australian community
  • provide a comprehensive professional development plan, and description of how the $10,000 cash prize will enable them to implement that plan in a manner which may not be possible without the financial support which the award provides.

The candidate will:

  • have made significant practical and/or theoretical contributions to the art and practice of engineering in any (or several) of the following disciplines:
    • Communications Engineering;
    • Computer Systems Engineering;
    • Electronics Engineering;
    • Information Engineering; or
    • Software Engineering, and
  • have made significant contributions to the community.

Terms and Conditions

A recipient of the award must:

  • be an Australian citizen or permanent Australian resident; and
  • be eligible to be a member of Engineers Australia, the Institution of Engineering and Technology or the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers in the grade of engineer, technologist or associate.

The nomination form must be signed by the nominee and two referees, at least one of whom must be a chartered member of Engineers Australia.

Submission Guidelines

The nomination must provide:

  1. Nominee’s current CV including employment history and achievements
  2. Nominee’s Short Biography
  3. Nominee’s statement addressing each criterion
  4. A 750 words essay detailling how the award will facilitate the nominee’s professional and personal development
  5. Contact details of two supporting members with CPEng or Fellow status
  6. Nominee’s portrait photo

Unsuccessful candidates may be re-nominated in subsequent years.

Presentation of the Award

The recipient will receive a cash prize of AU $10,000 provided by the IREE Foundation, a framed certificate and an engraved medal. The prize will be presented at a suitable formal occasion of Engineers Australia.

2018 Winner

Michael Jones


Michael is an engineering professional with 20 years’ experience spanning both the telecommunications and defence sectors. He spent his early career working as a design engineer, with a focus on radio frequency electronics. Having an avid interest in both technology and leadership has seen him progress into engineering leadership roles in recent years. 

Michael is currently employed by Rheinmetall Defence as an Engineering Manager, seconded to Germany as part of the LAND 400 program. Under this major international project, the Australian Army will be outfitted with an array of sophisticated vehicle equipment.

Michael holds a Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from James Cook University, a Master of Engineering in Electrical and Electronic Engineering from the University of Adelaide, a Bachelor of Business from Swinburne University of Technology and a Diploma of Project Management. He is a Fellow of Engineers Australia and a Chartered Professional Engineer.

Past award recipients