John Madsen Medal

About this Award

The John Madsen Medal is awarded for the best paper written by a current member of Engineers Australia, and published in The Australian Journal of Electrical and Electronic Engineering.

The medal perpetuates the memory of Sir John Madsen who was Foundation Professor of Electrical Engineering at the University of Sydney from 1920 to 1949. Sir John Madsen was one of Australia’s great electrical engineers and some of his outstanding community service was through his active cooperation with CSIRO. He proposed the founding of a Radio Research Board and was a leader in the development of radar in Australia. He was active in forming the Electrical Research Board and the National Standards Laboratory. He was a Councillor of the Institution from 1930 to 1933 and was awarded the Peter Nicol Russell Memorial Medal in 1944.

In 1976 this medal replaced the Electrical Engineering Prize which was originally founded upon a donation made by the Electrical Association of Australia, one of the Foundation Societies of the Institution. It was first awarded in 1927 and was known as the Electrical Association Premium. The name was changed to the Electrical Engineering Prize in 1954. The award formerly consisted of a certificate and a cash premium.

Nomination Criteria
Terms and Conditions
Submission Guidelines
Presentation of the Award

Nomination Criteria

The candidates will be judged solely on the following criteria:

  • Your submission should detail an example of how you applied automation systems, computer modelling and other engineering techniques within a power engineering application. What challenges did you face? How did you overcome these challenges? What was the significant commercial and customer benefit from the solution that you implemented? Were there any other significant achievements that resulted from this project?
  • Achievements during the years since graduation of undergraduate degree (to a maximum of 6 years), in the form of significant practical and/or theoretical work in the practice of Electrical Power Engineering;
  • Active contributions to the community will be favourably regarded; and
  • Candidates with Chartered status will be favourably regarded.

Please note: If in the opinion of the judging panel, no suitable candidate is nominated in that year, the judging panel has the right and obligation to decline the making of an award in that year.

Terms and Conditions

  • For a technical paper to be eligible for consideration for the Madsen Medal it must satisfy the following criteria:
    • The topic of the paper must be related to the discipline of Electrical or ITEE Engineering; and
    • The paper must have been published in the AJEEE in the previous year
  • At least half of the authors must be members of Engineers Australia during the entire period from the time of submission of the paper, to the end of the financial year during which the paper was published in the AJEEE; or
  • The principal author must be a member of Engineers Australia during the entire period from the time of submission of the paper, to the end of the financial year during which the paper was published in the AJEEE

Submission Guidelines

You must provide the following with your submission:

  1. Nominee’s brief statement of ambitions
  2. Nominee’s current detailed CV
  3. A description of your significant engineering achievements and community contributions (if any)
  4. Nominee’s copy of final tertiary results
  5. Signed letters of support from the nominee’s employer/sponsor and at least one work related reference
  6. Reference(s) from other work related contacts eg: supervisors, employers or client
  7. Nominee’s portrait photo
  8. Nominee’s citation (Max 100 words)

Presentation of the Award

The winner is awarded an engraved medal and framed certificate and is presented at a suitable formal Engineers Australia event, during the year following that when the paper was published. Authors who are not members of Engineers Australia will receive a certificate only.

Prof Akhtar Kalam

FIEAust CPEng NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)

Professor Akhtar Kalam has been at Victoria University (VU), Melbourne since 1984 and a former Deputy Dean of the Faculty of Health, Engineering and Science and Head of Engineering of the College of Engineering and Science. He is currently the Head of External Engagement. Further, he is the current Chair of the Academic Board in the Engineering Institute of Technology, Perth and Texila College Australia, Melbourne.

His major areas of interest are power system analysis, communication, control, protection; renewable energy; smart grid; IEC61850 implementation and cogeneration systems.

Joevis Claveria

Joevis Claveria has been in the academe and manufacturing industry for more than 20 years. He was a former Department Head of Electrical Engineering in a University. He received his bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Saint Louis University, Philippines.

He completed his Master of Engineering (Research) from Victoria University, Melbourne, Australia in 2014. His topics include renewable energy, fuel cell, control systems and power generation. He is currently pursuing his Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) in Engineering at Victoria University, Melbourne – in power system analysis, control systems, substation automation, IEC61850 implementation, smart grid, communication, and cybersecurity.

He has been actively engaged in providing tutorials and lectures to undergraduate and postgraduate students. He has conducted research studies for international conferences and published papers on his area of expertise. His major areas of interests are, renewable energy, industrial automation, IEC 61850 implementation, smart grid, communication, power system protection, and cybersecurity. He is a member of EA and IEEE.

Past award recipients