National Professional Electrical Engineer of the Year

About this Award

The National Professional Electrical Engineer of the Year award is designed to promote excellence and the profession within the community at large, and encourage young people to consider electrical engineering (especially power engineering) as a career.

This award is an annual national award for an outstanding senior electrical engineer member of the College who would be expected to be at (or near) the peak of his or her career, and a good role model for younger members of the profession.

In contrast, the M A Sargent Medal is awarded only when there is a nomination of a candidate who meets the special requirements of that award, normally at the end or near the end of their career, as it is an award recognising overall career achievements.

In summary, the National Professional Electrical Engineer of the Year award is designed to:

  • promote excellence;
  • promote the profession within the community at large; and
  • encourage young people to consider electrical engineering (especially power engineering) as a career.

The recipient will be a highly respected member of the College and a role model for young members.

Nominations have closed, if you have any questions please contact [email protected]

2022 Nominations Close 1 August 2022
Nomination Criteria
Terms and Conditions
Submission Guidelines
Presentation of the Award

Nomination Criteria

The following criteria are used to assess applicants:

  • Substantial experience in the profession of electrical engineering (in industry, government or academia);
  • Currently fully active in electrical engineering work, either at a senior managerial or specialist technical level, or a combination of both;
  • A solid history of high level achievements in the work of the profession (as a technical specialist, or manager of people and/or projects), demonstrating outstanding leadership;
  • Demonstrated excellent communication and interpersonal skills;
  • Sound awareness of the role engineering and other professions play within the community; and
  • Evidence of participation in the provision of CPD to the members of the profession.

Terms and Conditions

Nominees must be:

  • members of the Electrical College of Engineers Australia;
  • Australian citizens or permanent Australian residents; and
  • either a Fellow or have CPEng status.

Submission Guidelines

You must provide the following with your submission:

  1. Nominee’s Short Biography
  2. Nominee’s Citation
  3. Nominee’s current CV including employment history and achievements
  4. Nominee’s information addressing each criterion
  5. Contact details of two supporting members with CPEng or Fellow status
  6. Nominee’s portrait photo

Please note that if a nomination is not successful in the year of nomination, it will be considered again during each of the following two years.


Presentation of the Award

The award consists of a medal and framed certificate and is presented at a suitable formal Engineers Australia event.

2022 Winner

Andrew Nelson

FIEAust CPEng NER APEC Engineer IntPE(Aus)

Andrew Nelson is a senior electrical and aerospace engineer with 30 years of experience within Defence. Throughout his career Andrew has held several key engineering and leadership roles in maintenance, engineering design, test and evaluation, and major capital project acquisition and sustainment management.

A distinguished graduate of US Test Pilot School and a qualified Flight Test Engineer, Andrew holds post-graduate Masters in Business Administration, Aerospace Engineering and Flight Test Engineering. Andrew is also a Graduate of the Australian Company Directors Course.

Presently, Andrew heads the F-35A Joint Strike Fighter Project Management Unit within Air Combat Systems Program Office, where he is also the project lead for Australia’s F-35A modernisation program. In his spare time, Andrew also volunteers as a Director on the Engineers Australia (Electrical College) Board as well as on several other private and Not-for-Profit Boards both nationally and internationally.

Past award recipients