Program: Pinnacles

We look forward to celebrating engineering’s top people and projects at the National Pinnacles Awards ceremony, taking place on Monday 9 November at 6.00-7.30pm AEDT.

Broadcast live, during the ceremony we will announce the National Engineer of the Year Award winners, the President’s Prize, the Peter Nicol Russell Memorial Medal, and the Sir William Hudson Award – the highest accolade which an engineering project can receive from Engineers Australia.

You will hear from the award finalists and witness winner reactions as we cross-live to different locations around Australia, and learn more about some of Australia’s most inspiring engineering projects and the people behind them. We’ve also made a PDF program for you to download and print at home, to help make proceedings easy to follow on the night.

We hope you can join us in recognising engineering excellence.

2020 has been a year like no other, and though celebrations across the country may be a little different this year, we encourage you to share your experience by posting a photo of how you’re celebrating on social media with the hashtag #PinnaclesAwards2020.




Welcome viewers and Acknowledgement of Country
MC Adam Spencer

President and CEO Messages
Chris Champion and Dr Bronwyn Evans

Sir William Hudson Award Finalists: Part One
Canberra, Sydney and Newcastle

Engineering Associate of the Year Announcement
Dr Bronwyn Evans

Engineering Technologist of the Year Announcement
Dr Bronwyn Evans

Sir William Hudson Award Finalists: Part Two
Queensland, Western Australia and Tasmania

Young Professional Engineer of the Year Announcement
Dr Bronwyn Evans

Professional Engineer of the Year Announcement
Dr Bronwyn Evans

Peter Nichol Russell Career Achievement Memorial Medal Announcement
Chris Champion

Sir William Hudson Award Finalists: Part Three
South Australia, Victoria, Northern Territory

President’s Prize
Chris Champion

Sir William Hudson Award Announcement
MC Adam Spencer

Event close


Chris Champion
National President & Board Chair, Engineers Australia

Chris was Chief Executive Officer of the Institute of Public Works Engineering Australasia (IPWEA), a Technical Society of Engineers Australia, for 15 years to 2015. Prior to this, he had 30 years in local government engineering with 12 years as Director Engineering/City Engineer.

Chris led IPWEA from small beginnings to become internationally recognised as leaders in public works and infrastructure asset management, and brings experience and insights in association management and international activities to the Board of Engineers Australia.

Dr Bronwyn Evans
Chief Executive Officer, Engineers Australia

Dr Bronwyn Evans is the CEO of Engineers Australia, the Chair-Elect for the Building 4.0 CRC, a Director of the Australia-Japan Foundation, and was recently the CEO of Standards Australia and a Vice President (Finance) of the International Standards Organisation (ISO).

Dr Evans has over 35 years’ experience in various engineering roles. She is an Honorary Fellow of University of Wollongong, an Honorary Fellow of The Institution of Engineers Australia, a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Adam Spencer
Event MC

Adam Spencer was completing a PhD in Pure Mathematics when he happened to win the national Triple J Raw Comedy championship in 1996. From there, a television and radio career beckoned and Adam completed 15 years as one of Australia’s most respected, wittiest and thought provoking breakfast radio commentators across Triple J and later ABC 702. Also a celebrated author, Adam’s latest books include The Little Book of Numbers, The Big Book of Numbers, World of Numbers, Time Machine, The Number Games, The Top 100 and Numberland.

Engineering House
11 National Circuit
Barton ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6270 6555

Toll Free: 1300 653 113

Copyright © Engineers Australia 2020. All rights reserved    |    Site by Persona