Previous Project Winners

2020 Sir William Hudson Award Winner 

Hyperparallel OCT (HP-OCT™) for Ophthalmology and Optometry Cylite Pty Ltd

Cylite’s Hyperparallel OCT (HP-OCT™) is the next generation of diagnostic equipment for Ophthalmologists and Optometrists. Designed, engineered, and manufactured in Australia, the HP-OCT ™ provides complete volume 3D imaging of the eye, along with highly accurate (to the micron level) measurements of all the key optical properties of the eye.


Canberra Light Rail
Canberra Metro

The InQuik Bridge System (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
SMEC, InQuik Bridging Systems


Optimal Scheduling of Urban Bulk Water Systems Under Uncertainty
University of Newcastle, Water NSW

Project Gilghi (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
Aurecon, Ampcontrol

The Newcastle Light Rail Project 

Transitioning from 2D drawings to 3D auto-generated digital models for certified design
Essential Energy


Ichthys LNG (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)


25 King

Bruce Highway Link Flood Study
Department of Transport and Main Roads, AECOM, Hydrology and Risk Consulting (HARC), NineSquared

Cairns Shipping Development Project
Ports North

Cedar Grove Environmental Centre
Logan Water

Intelligent Switchgear with Synchrophasor Technology for the Future Distribution Grid
NOJA Power Switchgear Pty. Ltd., Energy Queensland, AusNet Services, University of Queensland, Deakin University, AEMO

SSR-Omni for Monitoring Open-Pit Mine Slopes, Walls and Tailings Dams (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)

South Australia

Darlington Upgrade Project – Bridge Construction Innovation
Gateway South

GPO Exchange – Adelaide’s Smartest Commercial Office Building
Meld Strategies

Hornsdale Power Reserve

HyP SA Hydrogen Production and Injection Facility
GPA Engineering, Valmec Limited, Australian Gas Networks Limited (Australian Gas Infrastructure Group)

Super-efficient CO2 Refrigeration Integrated with Phase Change Energy Storage (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
University of South Australia, Glaciem Cooling Technologies


Caterpillar MineStar Command for Underground (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
Caterpillar Underground Mining Pty Ltd

Port of Burnie Post-Panamax Container Crane Demolition
Tasmanian Ports Corporation, BridgePro Engineering

UTAS Stadium – Field of Play Reconstruction
Hazell Bros


Albion Park Rail Bypass – Detailed Design
SMEC Australia, Fulton Hogan

Sydney Metro Northwest – Operations, Trains and Systems Contract
Northwest Rapid Transit, CPB Contractors, John Holland Group, MTR Corporation, UGL Limited

Sydney Metro Northwest Stations (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
Mott MacDonald, SMEC, KBR

Team UOW – Desert Rose House
University of Wollongong

Wynyard Place – Shell House
Taylor Thomson Whitting (TTW)

Yandhai Nepean River Crossing
Transport for NSW, BG&E and Seymour Whyte Constructions


271 Spring Street, Melbourne, Victoria

Burwood Brickworks Shopping Centre
Spencer Group Engineering Pty Ltd

The Caulfield to Dandenong Level Crossing Removal Project
The Caulfield to Dandenong Level Crossing Removal Alliance: Lendlease, CPB Contractors, Aurecon, WSP, Metro Trains Melbourne (MTM) and the Level Crossing Removal Project (LXRP)

Hyperparallel OCT (HP-OCT™) for Ophthalmology and Optometry (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
Cylite Pty Ltd

Southern Program Alliance – Initial Works Package
Southern Program Alliance: Lendlease, Acciona Coleman Rail, WSP, Metro Trains Melbourne (MTM) and the Level Crossing Removal Project (LXRP)

The Woodside Building for Technology and Design

Western Australia

Agnew Hybrid Renewable Project
EDL, Gold Fields

AutoHaul (Sir William Hudson Award Finalist)
Rio Tinto

Balticconnector Offshore Pipeline
Subsea Engineering Associates Pty Ltd

EZONE – University of Western Australia
Pritchard Francis Consulting Pty Ltd, The University of Western Australia

Groundwater Replenishment Scheme Stage 2 Expansion
Water Corporation of Western Australia

Kalbarri Skywalk Structures, Kalbarri National Park
Terpkos Engineering