RW Chapman Medal

About this Award

The medal was first awarded in 1935 and perpetuates the memory of Sir Robert Chapman, a former Professor of Engineering at the University of Adelaide and a member of the inaugural Council of the Institution. He was Chairman of the former Adelaide Division in 1920 and was President of the Institution in 1922.

2022 Nominations Open 1 March 2022
Close 1 August 2022
Nomination Criteria
Presentation of the Award

Nomination Criteria

The Medal is awarded for the best paper in the structural field, published in an Australian Journal (but with special consideration to the Internationally recognised Australian Journal of Structural Engineering) in the previous calendar year. It must also satisfy the award criteria.

  • Make a genuine attempt to share data
  • Represent a realistic approach to the subject i.e. practically appropriate techniques
  • Have at its core an important or neglected issue that could have wide application
  • Be a sound technical development
  • The recipient does not have to be an Engineers Australia member

Presentation of the Award

The winner receives a framed medal and is presented at a special meeting or function of the College selected as appropriate by the Board of the College of Structural Engineering.

2019 Winner

Scott J. Menegon, John L. Wilson, Nelson T. K. Lam & Peter McBean.

Paper published in the Australian Journal of Structural Engineering Volume 19, 2018 – Issue 1 

Dr Scott Menegon is a Research Fellow at Swinburne University of Technology. He received his BEng (Hons) from Queensland University of Technology; MEngStruct from the University of Melbourne; and PhD from Swinburne University of Technology where he was the joint inaugural recipient of the prestigious Dr William Piper Brown AM scholarship. Scott’s primary research interests include precast concrete structures and the seismic behaviour of RC buildings in Australia and other regions of low to moderate seismicity. Scott is a Chartered Professional Engineer (structural) and has experience designing buildings in the health, government, education, transport and residential sectors. He also has experience in the design of temporary structures, which includes being the lead designer on a project that received a high commendation from the Australian Steel Institute in 2016.

Prof. John Wilson is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Officer of Swinburne Sarawak, Malaysia. He received his BEng (Hons) from Monash University; MSc from the University of California, Berkeley; and PhD from the University of Melbourne. John is the chairman of BD6/11, the committee responsible for AS 1170.4. John’s research interests are focused on earthquake engineering with a particular emphasis on the seismic performance of limited ductile RC columns and walls. John is a past joint recipient of four RW Chapman Medals and one WH Warren Medal. He was the Victorian Division chairman of Engineers Australia in 2002, spokesperson for the Victorian Infrastructure Report Cards 2005-16, Chairman of Judges for the Victorian Engineering Excellence Awards 2011-16 and President of the Australian Council of Engineering Deans 2017-18.

Prof. Nelson Lam is the leader of Structures and Buildings in the Department of Infrastructure Engineering at the University of Melbourne, Australia. Nelson is a member of BD6/11, the committee responsible for AS 1170.4, and has contributed to the drafting of the Malaysian National Annex to Eurocode 8 as an international advisor. Nelson’s research interests include the behaviour of RC buildings in lower seismic regions, ground motion analysis, structural dynamics and impact dynamics. Nelson is a past recipient of Engineers Australia’s RW Chapman Medal (1999 & 2010), WH Warren Medal (2006) and Award for Teaching Excellence (2012). He received his BSc with 1st class honours from the University of Leeds; MSc from Imperial College of Science & Technology; and PhD from the University of Melbourne.

Peter McBean is joint managing director of Wallbridge Gilbert Aztec (WGA) and a consulting structural engineer with 35 years’ experience and a keen interest in seismic design. Peter has led the structural design of many major projects including the $1.85b new Royal Adelaide Hospital which opened in 2017. He is a fellow of The Institution of Engineers Australia, a Chartered Professional Engineer and immediate past President of the Australian Earthquake Engineering Society. Peter is a member of BD6/11 and BD2, the committees responsible for AS 1170.4 and AS 3600. He co-authored the SRIA publication, “Guide to Seismic Design and Detailing of Reinforced Concrete Buildings in Australia” which received a national CIA award for excellence in 2015. In addition to design activities, Peter is an active Australian Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) Task Force Engineer and was deployed to Christchurch following the February 2011 earthquake.

Engineering House
11 National Circuit
Barton ACT 2600

Phone: +61 2 6270 6555

Toll Free: 1300 653 113

Copyright © Engineers Australia 2020. All rights reserved