W H Warren Medal

About this Award

The W H Warren Medal perpetuates the memory of Professor W H Warren who was the first President of the Institution of Engineers Australia. Established in 1929, this award is given annually by the Civil College of Engineers Australia for the best paper in the discipline of civil engineering.

2022 Nominations Close 1 August 2022
Nomination Criteria
Terms and Conditions
Presentation of the Award

Nomination Criteria

  • The Award shall be for a paper on a civil engineering subject, provided such paper is adjudged of sufficient merit as a contribution to the literature of the engineering profession
  • Papers should be original and innovative

Terms and Conditions

  • Papers are eligible if they are published between 22 August of previous year to 21 August of year of nomination in any of Engineers Australia’s journals, conference proceedings or any other document recognised as a formal Engineers Australia publication
  • Joint authorship of a paper is restricted to three in number, of which one must be a member of Engineers Australia
  • The Award shall be given only to members who are in good standing at the close of the financial year

Presentation of the Award

The award consists of a framed certificate and engraved medal and is presented at a special meeting or function of the College selected as appropriate by the Board of the College of Civil Engineering. Members of Engineers Australia will receive a medal in addition to a certificate.

2021 W H Warren Medal Winner

Dr Mahbube Subhani


Short statement on winning this award:

It is a great honour to receive the W H Warren Medal that recognises the best scientific paper in Civil Engineering. I am earnestly grateful to the Civil College of Engineers Australia for the recognition I received for conducting this applied research in collaboration with Austeng, City of Greater Geelong and Rocla.

This award acknowledges my passion for ensuring sustainability in our civil infrastructures and celebrates the successful collaboration between industry and academia to solve real world problem.

Past award recipients